Saturday 2 March 2019

Temple Of The Fuzz Witch - S/T (Album Review)

Release date: March 08th 2019. Label: Seeing Red Records. Format: CD/DD

Temple Of The Fuzz Witch – S/T – Tracklisting

1. Bathsheba - 5:45
2. Death Hails - 3:52
3. The Glowing of Satan - 6:21
4. 329 - 6:53
5. infidel - 6:16
6. The Fuzz Witch - 6:27
7. Servants Of The Sun - 5:38


Detroit doom masters Temple Of The Fuzz Witch return with their self titled debut album. Having garnered acclaim with their debut EP from a couple of years ago and having whetted our whistle further with the Bathsheba single from last year, the band finally unleash their first full length to much anticipation and it definitely lives up to that anticipation.

That single opens the album and those already familiar, with both that song and Temple Of The Fuzz Witch will know that they excel in huge doom laden riffs executed with electricity along with trademark hazy vocals.

From then on in, alongside those huge riffs, the album takes in more stoner-esque grooves and even some funeral doom vibes but they never lose sight of what they want to achieve and that is to knock the listener sideways with the garagatuan sound of their riffs.

The likes of The Glowing Of Satan, Infidel and The Fuzz Witch certainly do that, great swathes of noisey guitar led goodness explodes from the speakers throughout these tracks in particular and it is easy to see why the band are named Temple Of The Fuzz Witch, the fuzzy riffs contained are a thing of triumph and beauty.

There is an eclecticism at work here too though, especially on a song like 3/29 which slows things down even further and adds a sludgy feel to proceedings to maximum effect and even on the song that closes the album, Servants Of The Sun, which is a mellower affair than what has gone on before and still packs a punch, these two songs however are still propelled, of course, by those killer riffs and that makes for a superbly enjoyable listening experience.

Temple Of The Fuzz Witch is prime Sabbath worship from a band who follow that blueprint naturally but add different elements of their own personality to create a well executed and assured debut album. The riffs that litter the album are immense and elevate the well crafted songs into something that is infinitely great and demonstrate that this is a band with a bright future ahead of them for sure.

Words by Gavin Brown

Thanks to Seeing Red Records. Temple Of The Fuzz Witch will be available to buy on CD/DD via Seeing Red Records from March 8th 2019.