Sunday 28 April 2019

Mt. Echo - Cirrus (Album Review)

Release date: April 20th 2019. Label: Self Released. Format: DD

Cirrus – Tracklisting

1.Basic Operation 05:08
2.Lighthouse At The End of Time 04:42
3.Soft Nothing 06:00
4.Don't Blink 04:43
5.Wolves 04:05
6.Catena 04:12
7.Monsters and the men who made them 07:00
8.Agelast 05:00
9.Godcomplex 05:06


Gerben, Tommy, Vincent, Rolf


Cirrus is the debut album by Instrumental Post-Metallers Mt.Echo and the band make a lasting impression with their own style of Post-Rock/Post-Metal. As the band add flourishes of Psychedelic Rock and Noise Rock which is quite uncommon within the Post-Metal world. The band feel influenced by bands such as Neurosis, Pelican and Russian Circles which is understandable coming from the Post-Metal world.

Opening song – Basic Operation – is a Progressive Post-Rock/Post-Metal offering with the band adding a cool Noise Rock flavour on the later stages of the song. The song starts really slow and mellow before changing direction on the second half when the heavier and progressive sludge metal riffs appear. Mt. Echo become a more threatening and menacing presence as the song builds to an exciting climax.

Second song – Lighthouse At The End Of Time – is a thumping Post-Metal song where Mt. Echo start to create the albums heaviest riffs that become standard for the rest of the album. This is a complex and heavy offering with different layers of music starting to appear such as Ambient Doom and Psychedelic Rock. The gloomy atmospherics is a cool touch and reminds of me PELICAN in certain areas.

Third song – Soft Nothing – is the second longest song on the album and the band adapt a more Post-Rock persona for the first few opening moments of the song. The slowly played riffs soon give away to a more thunderous style of Post-Metal but it’s still good to hear the Post-Rock and Post-Metal vibes working together instead of working against each other. This is one of the most satisfying and emotionally complex driven songs held on the album.

Fourth song – Don’t Blink – opens with a Psychedelic/Post-Rock interlude with an Ambient Post-Doom sound allowing Mt. Echo to experiment with their sound. This is an exciting song to listen to as it feels quite thrilling and cinematic in places. The song does take time to fully get going but I did enjoy the more adventurous side of it all. The progressive and ambient styles soon settle down into a more complex and confident rhythm.

The first 4 songs should give you a taste on what to expect for the remainder of the album. Though Mt. Echo do play heavier and complex music on the second half of the album especially on songs such as Wolves, Catena, Monsters And The Men Who Made Them and Godcomplex. Mt. Echo deserve credit for trying to do something different with the standard Post-Rock/Post-Metal sound. The album does lag in certain places but that doesn’t stop Mt. Echo from changing style and tactics in delivering a thrilling and well-rounded Post-Metal cinematic experience.

Cirrus is superbly produced and Mt. Echo sound exciting and wonderful from start to finish. If you’re looking for a challenging and different sounding Post-Rock/Post-Metal album then Mt. Echo are the band for you.

This is a stunning and genuinely exciting album that leaves you wanting more.

Words by Steve Howe