Thursday 30 July 2015

OXEN - The Vanishing (Album Release Details) & New Video

The Vanishing - Track Listing:

2.The Vanishing
3.This Cursed Sand
4.Colour Out Of Space
5.Permanent Residence
6.Blood Eagle
7.City In The Sea
8.Tomb Of The Ocean
9.See Me Scream
10.The Matchstick


Chris Daniele-guitar, vocals
Hans Dalhaus-drums, vocals
Ben Reigle-guitar, vocals
Eric Racicot - bass, vocals


Based out of Western Massachusetts, Oxen is a 4 piece rock band that uses heavy riffs and pummeling rhythm to create a foundation for vocals that range from soaring melodies to gruff intensity.

This summer marks the release of Oxen's debut Lp "The Vanishing", an 11 song record that showcases the band's strong points of a wide dynamic approach and varied influences.

The Lowdown

One of the final albums that I reviewed for The Sludgelord was OXEN's incredible debut album - The Vanishing. If you dig Baroness and Mastodon then these guys will blow your mind. I've been raving on about this album for the last couple of months. It's one of the best debut albums I've heard this year.

The band contacted me recently and have asked me to publish the following news about the forthcoming release of their stunning debut album.

We are self releasing "The Vanishing" on August 11th via cdBaby, iTunes all the normal modern outlets. We will be updating to reflect the release date.

We recently released a video for "This Cursed Sand" It's full 360. You have to watch it on the youtube app on iphone or android, or on google chrome on your computer.

We are going into production for a video for "Waxwing" with the amazing photographer that did the album cover of the vanishing Courtney Burke should be out late August. 

Don't let this album pass you buy when it's released on August 11th 2015. As it's a fucking incredible slice of Heavy Progressive Sludge/Stoner Metal that will have you singing from the rooftops!!!

Words by Steve Howe and OXEN