Thursday 7 May 2020

KAYLETH - 2020 Back To Earth (Album Review) And Video Premiere For THE DAWN OF RESURRECTION

Release date: May 8th 2020. Label: Argonauta Records. Format: CD/DD/VInyl

2020 Back To Earth – Tracklisting

01. Corrupted
02. Concrete
03. Lost in the Canyons
04. The Dawn of Resurrection
05. Delta Pavonis
06. By Your Side
07. Electron
08. The Avalanche
09. Sirens
10. Cosmic Thunder


Massimo Dalla Valle - Guitar
Alessandro Zanetti - Bass
Daniele Pedrollo - Drums
Enrico Gastaldo - Vocals
Michele Montanari - Synths


2020 Back To Earth is the new album from Psych/Space/Stoner Rockers – KAYLETH – and follows their 2018 offering Colossus. KAYLETH seem to have a rich stride of form over the last few years with their last album and with their new offering as well. KAYLETH are a super-tight unit who play out of this world Cosmic Spaced Out Stoner Rock with a Doom Metal atmosphere being more present compared to previous albums.

The band add new elements to their music with this album and it’s perhaps their most daring and bold album to date. The music offers a wild style of Progressive Stoner Rock with the Doom Metal vibes never to far away. The album does have a fast-paced approach with KAYLETH always in a hurry to play the next heavy groove and the album is packed full of those moments.

The first few songs – Corrupted, Concrete and Lost In The Canyons – see the band build up a steady rhythm of Progressive grooves and ideas with a mighty soulful vibe being added. The album maybe set in 2020 but the album also offers a classic style of Stoner Rock/Metal with influences such as KYUSS and Monster Magnet never to far behind. The lyrics are way OVER THE TOP which what you would expect from an album such as this.

Though I will admit the band almost lost me when the Saxophone appeared on Lost In The Canyons. As I’ve never been a fan of that instrument or it’s use in the realm of Doom/Stoner Metal but I will admit they’re used superbly well here and especially with the Cosmic Sounding Synths coming from Michele who excels himself throughout the album. The Saxophone gives the album an almost Jazz based feel and it does take time getting used to.

From here on in, KAYLETH continue playing Psychedelic Stoner Rock sounds that have quite an addictive quality to it. The music is still fast-paced and you may need to take a rest to take everything in with the band playing a wide array of different styles.

With 10 songs on the album, KAYLETH will have something for everyone to enjoy on this album. The second half of the album is perhaps stronger than the first half. As that’s where I feel personally the best parts of the album are. Heavier sounds and more inventive ideas that left me wanting more.

Standout songs include: By Your Side, Electron, Sirens and Cosmic Thunder.

KAYLETH have released a different sounding record to COLOSSUS but one that is quintessentially KAYLETH through and through.

Overall, 2020 Back To Earth is a superbly entertaining album from start to finish and it’s great to have the guys back doing what they do best.

Words by Steve Howe

You can watch the new video for their The Dawn Of Resurrection from their new album.

Thanks to Mona at All Noir PR for all the info.

2020 Back To Earth is available to buy now on CD/DD/Vinyl from Argonauta Records.