Monday 24 April 2017

Summoner - Beyond The Realm Of Light (Album Review)

Release date: May 12th 2017. Label: Magnetic Eye Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Beyond The Realm Of Light – Tracklisting

1.New Sun
2.The Huntress
3.Beyond the Realm of Light
4.The Emptiness
5.Skies of the Unknown
6.Into Oblivion


Scott Smith, Chris Johnson, Joe Richner, A.J. Peters


I was given the distinct pleasure of checking out the new record from Boston stoner rock band Summoner. Beyond The Realm Of Light is the band's 3rd record and I'm going to be brutally honest, this record kills. It didn't grab me right away, but after a couple of listens I was hooked like a riff obsessed crack addict.

Summoner doesn't really tread any new ground, but lay a heavy as claim to their own chunk of the sonic landscape. This record is rocking, it is catchy, it has huge riffs, gigantic drums and shredding solos aplenty.

The band wastes no time, as New Sun kicks in right away. It is the perfect intro for the next 30+ minutes. The Huntress follows and is littered with some NWOBHM style old school guitar solos. The title track, Beyond the Realm of Light, comes in as a slower heavier, more doom laden track and it is a monster.
Next is The Emptiness with a driving, heavy pace that grabs you right by the throat. Skies of the Unknown starts with a slower, spacey intro before kicking in big time with another hard driving finish. The record closes with Into Oblivion, a fitting closing that puts it's foot right on your throat.
After listening to this record, I was reminded of everything from Red Fang to Kyuss, Sabbath to Helmet, and about everything in between. This is a rock record. Period. Track this one down, give it a couple of spins, it won't leave your listening rotation, I guarantee.

Words by Todd Stealey
- Instagram @alltheghoststhathauntyou

Thanks to Jadd at Magnetic Eye and Carl at Action PR for the promo. Beyond The Realm Of Light will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Magnetic Eye Records from May 12th 2017.