Wednesday 5 December 2018

Samavayo - Vatan (Album Review)

Release date: November 23rd 2018. Label: Self Released. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Vatan – Tracklisting

1.Prevarication Nation 07:39
2.Vatan 07:45
3.Sirens 04:40
4.The Hate of Thousands 06:56
5.Marionette 06:13
6.Time To Die 05:58
7.Children of Kobane 06:16


Behrang Alavi (guitar, vox)
Stephan Voland (drums, backing vox)
Andreas Voland (bass, backing vox);


Progressive Psych Stoner Rockers – Samavayo – return with their new album – Vatan. The band continue their mix of Psychedelic Stoner Rock merged with Progressive Rock. The band have been described as Kyuss and Truckfighters jamming with TOOL in the past. That’s a very accurate description for Samavayo overall sound and their new album Vatan.

If that description sounds appealing to you then you will no doubt have a great time with Vatan. Even the vocals from Behrang take direct influence from Maynard James Keenan. Some of the bands lyrical themes and progressive melodies are heavily inspired by TOOL. However Samavayo add strands of Psychedelic Stoner Rock and Doom Metal to create music on their own terms.

Though just be prepared for a journey into the dark realms of Progressive Stoner Rock/Metal on Vatan.

Opening song – Prevarication Nation – is quite a dark and progressive song to open the album with. The lyrics have quite a bleak feel to them and the music moves between Psych Rock, Stoner and Progressive Rock with relevant ease. There is still a sense of familiarity with Samavayo’s music but you can’t deny how addictive the song can actually be at times.

Second song – Vatan – is a more Stoner Rock/Metal orientated song which allows the band to change the overall mood of the album. Especially when the trippy vocals appear. The music feels more laid-back and has a more apprehensive feel compared to the opening song. The vocals are handled superbly well for the most part of the song. There are a couple parts where the vocals are drowned out by the heavy music.

Third song – Sirens – opens with ambient sound before the progressive riffs appear and Samavayo get straight down to business in playing perhaps one of the most trippiest and psychedelic songs on the entire album. The riffs are very direct with the Progressive Rock elements being firmly kept in the background.

Samavayo continue their psychedelic musical journey on the remaining songs on the album and the album sees the band experimenting with their sound even more. It maybe too much to take in on your very first listen of the album. So you may need a few listens to get used to the different styles of music Samavayo have included on the album.

Other cool songs to check out and fully explore are: The Hate Of Thousands, Marionette and Children Of Kobane. All these songs fully show a different side to Samavayo’s music. The lyrics can be quite deep and thought-provoking at the same time and that allows Samavayo to have an air of mystery around their music. Something that I truly appreciate about this album. As it makes you think what you’re actually listening to on the entire album.

Overall, Vatan is an album is one that will appeal to Samavayo’s established fan-base the most. As the casual or first time listener may struggle with the complex themes that the band have included here. Though that doesn’t stop Vatan being a well-made and superbly entertaining album.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.