Friday, 18 October 2019

DRIFT INTO BLACK Announce New Album and New Video For THE DARKEST WINTER

New Jersey’s Doom Metal solo act DRIFT INTO BLACK has recently wrapped up recording on the 3rd release and 2nd full length album entitled “Anthems From The Darkest Winter”Multi-instrumentalist and mastermind Craig Rossi began writing and recording immediately right after the release of last year’s concept album “Dead Suns Under the Forever Moon”.  The new album is set be released on November 15th and features 10 tracks, one of which is a cover of PINK FLOYD’s epic song High Hopes” taken from the “Division Bell album.

Craig Rossi notes “The new album is the heaviest, darkest, and most aggressive album so far. I’ve incorporated death vocals on at least half of the album. Although it’s not a concept album like the last one but it does follow a theme that starts from the beginning of winter to the end. Lyrically it’s a very personal album for me. Overall the lyrics are really up for interpretation to the listener”.

On his decision to cover PINK FLOYD’s “High Hopes” Rossi states “It’s one of my favorite songs of all time. A long time ago I used to play a piano version of the song just as a warm up so I am very familiar with the structure and chord progression so it made sense. I kept the song recognizable while putting my own Drift Into Black spin on it. Hopefully I did it justice haha”

The lyric video for “The Darkest Winter” which is the first single from the new album can be viewed below. 

The single is also available on Spotify and all other streaming services as well as the bands Bandcamp page.

Rossi notes “The Darkest Winter” is a song about karma. You reap what you sow”

“Anthems From The Darkest Winter” is a slightly new direction for DRIFT INTO BLACK. With the melodic guitar leads, crushing rhythms, atmospheric keyboard passages, haunting vocal melodies, and even a new band logo it is sure to quench the thirst of 90’s doom\death metal fans.

Once again Paul LaPlaca ( Spiritual Sickness, EX- October Thorns) accompanies Rossi on bass as well as Klemen Markelj (Sam’s Fever)on Drums.  The album was mixed and mastered by Bobby Torres of Frightbox Recording.

The album artwork (below) was designed by Craig Rossi with some additional artwork by Wahyu Satria.

“Anthems From The Darkest Winter” Track listing:

01. Snowbound
02. No Tomorrow 
03. The Ending of Silence
04. Blood and Betrayal 
05. The Darkest Winter
06. Seasons
07. Rebirth
08. Below the Earth
09. Washed Away
10. High Hopes (Pink Floyd cover)