Saturday 8 February 2020

Celebrity Stalker - Thrill Seekers (Album Review)

Release date: January 09th 2020. Label: Self Released. Format: DD

Thrill Seekers - Tracklisting

1. Thrill Seekers
2. Crime Styles of the Rich
3. American Dreams
4. Hatriots
5. Art of War
6. Repressed
7. Celebrity Stalker
8. I Am


Jason Young – Bass, Lead Vocals
Larry Prosser – Lead Guitar, Lead/Backup Vocals
Charlie Moffett – Drums, Backup Vocals


Thrill Seekers is the new album from Punk/Metal Crossover Band – Celebrity Stalker. OK, so these guys aren’t Doom/Sludge/Stoner Metal in anyway but I wanted to review their debut album as I used to dig a lot of this style of music in my younger years and it’s always good to revisit music you loved back from your youth. And these guys have written a hard-hitting album with a deep social conscience.

The album is fast-paced, aggressive and down-right catchy in places. The band say they’re aren’t a political band in any shape of form. However, the band to touch upon some hard-hitting social issues on this album which makes you really think about what the band are currently singing about.

There are 8 songs on the album and the band take influence from Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies and Iron Maiden but Celebrity Stalker follow their own destructive path with aggressive melodic riffs and some fine vocals from almost everyone in the band.

Maybe the album has a “Classic/Retro” feel to it but the music is so damn good that the Punk/Metal Crossover aspect of the whole album is what fully sells Celebrity Stalker as a hugely talented band in their own right. The lyrics and vocals do take a few songs to fully get used to but after that it’s all systems go for a violent onslaught of aggressive grooves with intelligence to match.

Standout songs include: Crime Styles Of The Rich, American Dreams, Hatriots, Art Of War and Celebrity Stalker.

If you’re a fan of this style of music then you need to check out Celebrity Stalker now. As these guys have an important message to say to the world and it ain’t pretty.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Words by Steve Howe