Saturday 1 February 2020

Disastroid - Mortal Fools (Album Review)

Release date: February 14th 2020. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Mortal Fools - Tracklisting

1. 8hr Parking
2. Hopeless
3. Mortal Fools
4. The Crewser
5. Reset
6. Bilge
7. Insect Mind
8. Deep Well
9. Space Rodent


Enver Koneya: Guitar/Vocals
Travis Williams: Bass
Braden McGaw: Drums


Mortal Fools is the new album from Disastroid and their first for new label Heavy Psych Sounds. Mortal Fools sees the band carry on playing their Aggressive fuelled mix of Punk, Sludge and Stoner Metal. This album is perhaps their most interesting and varied release to date. The sound feels more focused whilst allowing the band not to lose any of their aggressive streetwise swagger they built on previous releases.

Disastroid blast their way through nine songs of fast-paced and aggressive Doom/Sludge/Stoner based Punk songs that differ in style and tone for certain parts of the album. It’s good to see the band trying different styles of music on this album especially with their lyrics having a more grown-up feel. The vocals are fast and loose and match the core essence of the music with Disastroid creating quite a violent and can I say “fun” based atmosphere. The riffs are loud and heavy from start to finish with modern-sounding production values that leave little to the imagination where the volume stakes are concerned.

The album can be quite trippy and spaced out in places which allows the album to be more adventurous than I first realised especially on songs such as: 8hr Parking, Hopeless, Mortal Fools, The Crewser and Space Rodent. With this being their third album overall, Disastroid still include their earlier Noise Rock and Stoner based influences but the band feel more inspired by bands such as QOTSA, Helmut and Mastodon. Though this still a Disastroid album through and through.

Mortal Fools takes the listener along a very dark and twisted journey which could take a few listens to fully get on board with. The music is so good though with a thumping Noise/Sludge Rock vibe allowing the band to change direction on certain parts of the album that become very addictive indeed.

The heaviest and best parts of the album appear on the second half with Disastroid settling down for a more confident manner and just letting their music do all the talking.

Mortal Fools is a thrilling, exciting and perhaps the most fulfilling album that Disastroid have released to date. As part of the album title suggests, you would be a FOOL to miss this great album. End Of.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to All Noir PR and Purple Sage PR for the promo. Mortal Fools will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from Feb 14th 2020.