Saturday 19 September 2015

SIBIIR - Swallow & Trap Them (7inch Single Review)

Release date: September 4th 2015. Label: Disiplin Media. Formats: DD/Vinyl

Swallow & Trap Them - Tracklisting

Swallow & Trap Them
These Rats We Deny

Band Members:

Jimmy Nymoen (lead vocal),
Tobias Gausemel Backe (guitar),
Steffen Grønneberg (guitar),
Kent Nordli (bass) and
Eivind Kjølstad (drums).


Oslo mob Sibiir deal in bleak metallic hardcore with a furious approach to their music. This is aural battery with raw and pissed off vocals over the top of sheet metal riffs and pounding drums.

The pummeling title track kicks off this two tracker with its swirling hardcore meets black metal riffs, rhythmic drum tattoo and vocalist Jimmy Nyomens anguished howls colliding together with each other that results in a desolate soundscape with Nyomens shouts of "Washing away all my demons" an echo of the chaos and pain contained within the music.

The band follow this up with These Rats We Deny, a punishing workout that ups the chaos contained in Swallow & Trap Them, with even more metallic riffs being cranked out over a disciplined backbeat that reaches an epic crescendo at the end of the track.

Sibiir have a winning formula here with the volition of those blacker than black riffs and their furious hardcore anger with the only problem with Swallow & Trap Them is that is only two tracks but this only whets the listeners appetite for a full length album.

Words by Gavin Brown

Thanks to Viral Propaganda PR for the promo. Swallow & Trap Them is available to buy now through Disiplin Media on DD/Vinyl now.