Monday 7 September 2015

Void Of Sleep - New World Order (Album Review)

Release date: October 19th 2015. Label: Aural . Formats: CD/DD/Vinyl 

New World Order: Tracklisting 

01 The Devil's Conjuration
02 Hidden Revelations
03 Slaves Shall Serve
04 Ordo Ab Chao
05 Lords of Conspiracy
06 New World Order
07 Ending Theme 

Band Members: 

Gale - Gtr & Chorus
Allo - Drums
Paso - Bass
Burdo - Vox & Gtr 


Italian Psych Doom/Stoner Metal band – Void Of Sleep – released their stunning debut album – Tales Between Reality And Madness back in 2013. It won major acclaim within the Doom/Stoner Metal world from fans and critics alike. It’s blend of Psych Rock, Sludge Metal, Doom Metal and Stoner Metal ear-marked Void Of Sleep as a band to look out for in the future. Well the guys are back with their new album – New World Order.

It’s a different sound to their acclaimed debut album as Void Of Sleep opt for a more progressive style of Doom Metal with the band creating a highly atmospheric tale of Good vs Evil. Opening track – The Devil’s Conjuration – sees Void Of Sleep taking more risks with their music as the anthemic vibe which ran through their debut album is replaced by a more bleaker style of Sludge/Stoner Metal that verges on the fringes of Occult Rock. It’s a damn good track with the band revelling in their new sinister approach.

Second track – The Hidden Revelations – has a slight Opeth prog rock vibe. Even lead vocalist – Burdo – has taken cues from Opeth main frontman – Mikael Aerfeldt. If you ever wondered what Opeth would ever sound like doing Sludge/Stoner Metal then check this track out. The song has a twisted identity as you’re treated to so many different rhythms and noises.

Third track – Slaves Shall Serve – offers more of the same Progressive Rock/Doom Metal riffs from the opening two tracks. It’s quite an exciting track to listen to as it’s fast-paced and bursting with violent energy that makes it one of the albums standout tracks.

Fourth track – Ordo Ab Chao – is a song that could have came from their debut album as it captures the same vibe from Tales Between Reality And Madness. Crazy pysch based riffs and great vocals to match. It’s more of a Doom/Stoner Metal kind of affair with the band leaving the progressive madness behind. It’s still fairly bleak but at least the band show you they haven’t forgot to create music that got them noticed in the first place.

Fifth track – Lords Of Conspiracy – is 45 seconds of a twisted radio style broadcast to setup the mood for the final 22 minutes or so. I can see what the band was trying to accomplish here. But this track could of easily been left out. It’s a cool idea just not executed very well.

Sixth track - New World Order - is a Tool-esque style song with the band opting once again for a direct Progressive Rock/Metal feel It’s a highly complex psychedelic offering with the band showing venturing from fast-paced doom/stoner riffs to the more direct groove metal theatrics. The song runs for 8:17 mins and it sees Void Of Sleep create some of the albums finest moments especially where the vocals are concerned.

Seventh and Final track – Ending Theme – is a 14 minute epic which sees Void Of Sleep create a thrilling end to this album. It’s perhaps the most complex song that Void Of Sleep has written so far as once again the band decides to play as many different sounds they possibly can. Traces of Prog Rock, Groove, Stoner, Doom and Sludge can be heard through out the song. Truth be told, the song could of easily be 5 minutes shorter. That’s not to say it’s a bad song. Far from it as this is a superb song.

Some long-time fans of the band maybe disappointed the direction the guys have taken with their debut album. I applaud the guys for doing something different as New World Order sees Void Of Sleep offer a more clearer and disturbing vision compared to their debut album. My advice, embrace the darkness as New World Order is a stunning record. 

Words by Steve Howe 

Thanks to Void Of Sleep and Aural Music for the promo. New World Order will be available to buy on CD/DD from Aural Music on 19th October 2015. Vinyl will be released at a later date.