Saturday 18 February 2017

Hymn - Perish (Album Review)

Release date: February 17th 2017. Label: Svart Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Perish – Tracklisting

1.Ritual 01:45
2.Rise 12:19
3.Serpent 07:32
4.Hollow 07:49
5.Spectre 06:28
6.Perish 10:19

Band Members

Ole Rokseth - Guitar/bass & vocals,
Markus Støle - Drums


Hymn is a Guitar/Bass and Drums duo who deal in heavy Sludge/Doom riffs. Their debut album Perish offers a simple premise but delivers on a massive scale. Heavy down-tuned riffs which is what you would expect from a Sludge duo such as Hymn. Fans of Black Cobra will find much to enjoy here.

Hymn deliver their own style of pulsating rhythms The album runs for around 45 minutes though it feels longer and I mean that as a compliment. Songs such as Rise, Serpent, Hollow and Perish show that Hymn are passionate about their craft. Ole's vocals are harsh throughout but at least you can understand what he's singing or shouting about. The songs drift from Heavy Rock, Doom, Sludge and Stoner based atmospherics with ease as these guys ooze deadly confidence.

Ole and Markus are also members of celebrated Norwegian Sludge/Doom collective – Tombstones. So you can't question their pedigree. Perish is bleak throughout with the duo creating heavy gloomy moments merged against the other sounds they have at their disposal. The atmosphere can be deliberately slow paced at times but that allows Hymn to deliver the music on their own terms. You can hear shades of CONAN style theatrics on some parts of the album and also Tombstones as well.

However this is Hymn's show and they deliver a bruising encounter of Sludge/Doom/Stoner Metal that will haunt you for days.

You can buy Hymn on Vinyl from Svart Records now.

Words by Steve Howe


Facebook | BandCamp