Thursday 9 February 2017

Void Cruiser - Wayfarer (Album Review and Exclusive Song Premiere)

Release date: February 27th 2017. Label: Argonauta Records. Format: CD/DD

Wayfarer - Tracklisting

1. A day on which no man was born
2. I didn’t lie but I know now that I should have
3. As we speak
4. Madonnas and whores
5. Seven years late
6. All over nowhere
7. Maailman kallein kaupunki

Band Members

Guitars & Vocals – Super Salo Bros.
Bass & Vocals – Lassi “T-Hug” Tähtinen
Drums – Teemu ”T-Bag” Rantanen


Void Cruiser's second album - Wayfarer - is a Psychedelic Doom/Stoner odyssey where the band blends ambient sounds and ethereal desert/post-rock vibes for a heavy round of psychedelic weirdness. Opening track - A Day Which No Man Was Born - is structured like a classic post-rock song before the heavy ambient doomy sounds appear. 

Shades of Minerva era Deftones -open the song before the progressive and psychedelic riffs finally take over. It's purely an instrumental affair and shows Void Cruiser mean business on this album. A thumping bass heavy driven riff is the main highlight here with the other instruments playing their part as well. A wise choice to open the album with this song as it's one of the standout tracks on the album and it firmly holds your attention from beginning to end.

Second track - I Didn't Lie But I Now Know I Should Have - continues on the spaced out journey with another action packed ride where the band now add vocals to the mix courtesy of lead vocalist. It's a Post-Rock/Doom/Stoner Rock sound where the band expertly blend heavy and quiet sound dynamics for a surreal listen at times. The vocals are quite euphoric at times that only adds extra weight to Void Cruiser's overall sound.

Third track - As We Speak - is a more direct Doom/Stoner Metal offering with the band going for a simpler approach with the heavy distorted atmospherics giving way to a clearer sound. It's still psychedelic places but with the three minute running time, the band have less time to experiment and they concentrate in creating Post-Rock/Stoner vibes.

Fourth track - Madonnas and Whores sees Void Cruiser stepping away from the albums earlier sounds with a straight-forward Hard Rock song with the familiar Doom, Psych and Stoner elements being slowly played in the background. It's a very cool change of pace as it shows Void Cruiser isn’t afraid to change the album's tone and direction when the time calls for it. This song has a classic Kyuss groove near the very end.

The final three songs - Seven Years Late, All Over Nowhere and Maailman kallein kaupunki - sees Void Cruiser play the usual Psych Doom/Stoner Metal sounds and with the band experimenting with their sound yet again. The biggest change is perhaps the vocals as they change quite frequently. The major surprise is perhaps the final song - Maailman kallein kaupunki - as it's sung in their native language.

I'm surprised that these guys aren't better known within the Doom/Stoner Metal community as these guys have something exciting about them. Wayfarer can be a difficult album to define and listen to at times. As Void Cruiser play a different range of sounds. Whilst the first half of the album is Cosmic/Spaced Out Doom, the rest of the album ventures into different genres such as Hard Rock, Psych and Fuzz.

Wayfarer is a confident and wildly exciting album that will find a dedicated audience within the Doom/Stoner Metal community.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Barbara at NeeCee Agency for the promo. Thanks to Gero at Argonauta Records for streaming the song. Wayfarer will be available to buy on CD/DD via Argonauta Records from February 24th 2017.


You can hear the excellent new single - As We Speak - from their spellbinding new album.