Saturday 13 July 2019

Arrowhead - Coven Of The Snake (Album Review)

Release date: July 12th 2019. Label: Ripple Music. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Coven Of The Snake – Tracklisting

1.Coven Of The Snake 04:39
2.All Seeing Eye 05:10
3.Ceremony Of The Skull 04:53
4.Ghost Ship 03:56
5.Root Of Evil 04:59
6.Dopanaught 04:47
7.March Of The Reptiles 04:21
8.Golden Thunderhawk 06:42


Brett Pearl - Guitar/Vocals
Matt Cramp - Drums
Arron Fletcher - Bass Guitar
Raff Iacurto - Guitar


Aussie Psych Stoner Rockers Arrowhead return with their new album Coven Of The Snake and it sees the band with a heavier Doom Metal sound compared to their previous releases. Their trademark Psychedelic Stoner Rock/Metal grooves are still there. However, it feels Arrowhead have “come of age” with this release as everything feels more grown up and the album has some hard-hitting themes and ideas running through it’s DNA.

Arrowhead dive right in playing one of the heaviest and standout songs on the album with the fantastic sounding title song – Coven Of The Snake. The album captures the Doom/Stoner Metal world perfectly well within it’s 4:39 minute running time. As the riffs have the right balance of Psychedelic grooves and Progressive Doom/Stoner Metal sounds. The vocals from Brett are good and brings more balance to the overall flow of the song.

Second song – All Seeing Eye – has a more Classic Rock/Heavy Metal feel with elements of Psychedelic Stoner Rock holding everything together. This song reminded of early-era The Sword in so many ways. You know when The Sword were a great Hard Rock band before changing into a boring commercial act. Well, Arrowhead deliver a familiar sounding groove and it’s so damn good to hear. This is still Arrowhead’s show but it’s good to hear some familiar influences on this song.

Third song – Ceremony Of The Skull – carries on the Psychedelic Stoner/Fuzz/Doom Metal theatrics with absolute confidence. Arrowhead don’t mess around on this song and treat the listener to an exciting and gloomy song that ranks as one of the best songs held on the album.

Arrowhead continue moving effortlessly between the Fuzz Rock, Doom Metal and Stoner Metal genres with absolute confidence and the results are refreshing as hell. The lyrics are one of the best things about the album. As they allow Arrowhead to have a more threatening presence as result. Match this against the top-notch music the band have written for this album and you can see why Arrowhead have delivered their best album yet.

Songs such as: Ghost Ship, Root Of Evil, March Of The Fireflies and Golden Thunderhawk – prove why Arrowhead are one of the best Stoner Rock/Metal bands currently within the Australian scene.

A huge shout-out should goto Clayton Segelov who recorded, mixed and produce this album and it sounds incredible from start to finish. Clayton allows Arrowhead’s music to fully come to life and it’s a LOUD, MEAN and HEAVY AS HELL experience that leaves you wanting more.

Overall, Coven Of The Snake is an album that is fully worth your time and deserves a place in your record collection.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Richard at Sheltered Life PR for the promo. Coven Of The Snake is available to buy now on CD/DD/Vinyl via Ripple Music.