Saturday 20 July 2019

Horseburner - The Thief (Album Review)

Release date: August 2nd 2019. Label: Ripple Music. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Canyons – Tracklisting

1.The Thief
2.A Joyless King
3.Drowning Bird
4.The Fisherman's Vow
5.Seas Between
6.Hand of Gold, Man of Stone
7.The Oak


Adam Nohe - Drums/Vocals
Jack Thomas - Guitar/Vocals
Seth Bostick - Bass
Zach Kaufman - Guitar


Horseburner new album The Thief is an album that will appeal to fans of Baroness, Mastodon and Thin Lizzy. As the band play a highly progressive sound that pays homage to those great bands on this album whilst still forging ahead creating their own wildly addictive sound.

Opening song – The Thief – is a two-minute plus Psychedelic Sludge Rock song that shows you Horseburner mean business with this album. The song starts really slow before moving onto heavier progressive Sludge/Stoner Metal riffs that sadly don’t stay around for long before the song ultimately end.

Second song – A Joyless King – opens with a classic Heavy Metal sound that has a slight NWOBHM feel but still sees the band playing a more modern sounding Doom/Sludge/Stoner Metal atmosphere. The song has quite an adventurous and rebellious spirit that can be heard in the background. The album starts to weave an intriguing story with the almost “fantasy” based lyrics though it’s the music and fantastic vocals that save the day.

Third track – Drowning Bird – is a faster and more aggressive style of music that pays homage to Thin Lizzy in many ways. Fast-paced riffs and the classic sounding “Twin Guitars” working almost against each other than with each other. The vocals from insert name later are quite gloomy in places and matches the sombre mood the band create and play with their music. The second half of the song brings a frantic and almost Thrash delivery from the band.

Fourth song – The Fisherman’s View – opens with an eerie folk style guitar before the heavy sludgy grooves appear that bring a more destructive energy to play. The song benefits from top-notch vocals and OTT lyrics that prove Horseburner mean business with this album. Perhaps the heaviest song on the album with the band playing a wide range of different style of music that leaves you wanting more.

Fifth song – Seas Between – is another superbly played instrumental song that follows the same structure as the opening song The Thief. This song has a more personal and reflective feel compared to the other songs on the album.
The band don’t shy away in playing some of the heaviest moments on the second half of the album with Horseburner carry on playing their own hypnotic blend of Progressive Sludge/Stoner on great songs such as Insert Name Later, The Oak and Fathoms.

My only disappointment with the album is the choice of song the album ends with. Thiefsong is the final song and it’s not a bad song by any means. The album should have ended with something more substantial and heavier than Thiefsong. Though, that’s my only complaint with an otherwise outstanding album that’s brilliantly produced as well.

Horseburner have delivered the goods with The Thief and I can see why Ripple Music signed the band to their already impressive roster. Believe the hype with these guys. They’re the real deal and this album proves it time and time again.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Richard at Sheltered Life PR for the promo. The Thief will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Ripple Music from August 02nd 2019.