Tuesday, 15 October 2019

Lowburn - Phantasma (Album Review) and MY DOOM DEALER Video Premiere

Release date: October 25th 2019. Label: Argonauta Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Phantasma – Tracklisting

01. My Doom Dealer
02. Freaks
03. Cloud Valley
04. Walking On Thirds
05. Song Of A Preacher
06. Ghosts
07. Urban Funk Campaign
08. Hypnopomp


Henkka Vahvanen - drums
Antti Vesikko - bass
Tomi Mykkänen - guitar and vocals
Tommi Lintunen - guitar


Phantasma is the is the hard-rocking and suped-up new album from Finnish Sludge/Stoner Rockers – Lowburn – and they make an almighty racket on this album. The album is a mixture of Sludge Metal, Fuzz Rock, Psych Rock and Stoner Metal allowing Lowburn to have a modern style of music.

The album features 8 tracks of thrilling Sludge/Stoner Metal with the band having a flair for creating powerful grooves and grizzled vocals to match. Lowburn know how to rock out and show how willing they’re ready to do this for Phantasma with the excellent opening song – My Doom Dealer – which is fast-paced example of Sludge, Stoner and Doom Metal with a classic “NOLA” approach for a song that’s action-packed and full of powerful grooves.

Second song – Freaks – has a more “Blues Rock” feel with the band maybe taking influence from CLUTCH in places but still playing their own brand of Sludge/Stoner Metal but with a harder approach that you wouldn’t expect. The psychedelic grooves are superbly played and allow Lowburn to have a more laid-back feel to their music but the heavier sounds rule the roost on this album. The vocals from Tomi are quite commanding and very raw in places but it gives Lowburn a very real and human sound.

Third song – Cloud Valley – is a straight-up Hard Rock affair with the band playing a more vibrant “NOLA” style of music. The song is action-packed from the start and Lowburn are way more aggressive on this song and Tomi’s vocals prove that as well. The song does slow down in the middle for a slower style of music and the song loses some of it’s early magic but it’s good to see Lowburn doing something different on the album.

Fourth song – Walking On Thirds – opens with a Post-Doom/Post-Rock style of music which I didn’t expect at all. This was very cool to hear and I was excited to hear how the song would progress. Lowburn play a more subdued style of Sludge/Stoner Rock with trippy amounts of Psychedelic Rock allowing the band to slowly build up an exciting rhythm. The song never feels forced or outstays it’s welcome as the song gradually becomes heavier with fantastic sounding guitars holding everything together.

The second half of Phantasma continues with Lowburn playing their emphatic style of Sludge/Stoner Metal across 4 songs that are just as good as the first half with Song Of A Preacher and Hypnopomp being the main highlights.

Phantasma is an excellent sounding album that will surprise you in many different ways. As the band play a high amount of different sounds within the Doom/Sludge/Stoner Metal genres that you wouldn’t expect. Lowburn have soared to new creative heights on this album and they will surprise a lot of people with Phantasma.

This is an outstanding album that could allow Lowburn to become more well known within the Sludge/Stoner metal community.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Words by Steve Howe

You can see the new video for their excellent new song – My Doom Dealer – from the upcoming new album below.

Thanks to Mona at All Noir for all of the details. Phantasma will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Argonuata Records from October 25th 2019.