Thursday 24 June 2021

ZAHN Announce Debut Album on CRAZYSANE RECORDS And Release New Video For TSEUDO

Zahn are a new instrumental (noise) rock group consisting of Nic Stockmann (Heads., ex-Eisenvater) Chris Breuer (Heads., ex-The Ocean) and Felix Gebhard (live-Einstürzende Neubauten). A relentless exercise in rhythm and texture. 

Whether you love the hard riffs of Metz or The Jesus Lizard the big melodies of Torche and Red Fang or the swaggering sounds of The Desert Sessions Zahn packs a punch for you. Zahn is noise rock merging with sludge and post-punk in a spectacular threesome with avant-garde sensibilities presenting riffs and grooves in abstract patterns and rhythmic cycles. 

Along with the core trio the album features contributions from percussionist Peter Voightmann (ex-Heads., The Ocean) guitarist Fabian Bremer (AUA, Radare) guitarist/composer Wolfgang Möstl (Mile Me Deaf) saxophonist Sofia Salvo and Einstürzende Neubauten’s Alexander Hacke.

You can check out their fantastic and action-packed new video for TSEUDO  

Tseudo deconstructs the post-punk sound of early U2 giving it a more balls to the wall-attitude by ways of a big ass bass groove while casting the Dublin boys’ pure teenage angst in Lynchian synth textures provided by Einstürzende Neubauten’s Alexander Hacke.

Tseudo is pseudo spelled wrong. A piece of music pretending to be something it is not. Or is it? The video does not provide one with further clues. The protagonists on a cab ride to where? The guitar playing on this song has been said to be influenced by that of The Edge circa 1987.


Felix Gebhard: Guitar
Chris Breuer: Bass
Nic Stockmann: Drums

ZAHN Self-Titled Debut Album is available to pre-order now from CRAZYSANE RECORDS and will be released on August 20th 2021.