Friday 15 October 2021

Heavy Psych Rock Masters WEEDPECKER Announce New Album, “IV”, And Share First Single!

Heavy Psych Rock Masters WEEDPECKER Announce New Album, “IV”, And Share First Single!

“IV: The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts” Out On December 3, 2021 via Stickman Records

The vanguard of the Polish psychedelic heavy rock scene returns with a brand new album! Continuing to defy expectations and challenge what it means to be a “stoner” band, Weedpecker have crafted a new masterpiece: Their forthcoming album, entitled  “IV: The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts”, is set to be released on December 3, 2021 through Stickman Records.


After several fundamental lineup changes in the past years, fans of Weedpecker were left wondering what might become of the band’s newest incarnation. “III”, their last outing from 2018, was the final one with longtime bandmates Bartek Dobry, Robert Kulakowski and Grzegorz Pawlowski (the first of whom is remaining founding member Piotr Dobry’s brother). In 2019, the band gave a very brief glimpse into their new lineup featuring members of Dopelord, Major Kong and Belzebong while on a short tour. The most surprising change was the switch from dual guitars to a full-time keyboardist.

"I think it's the most refined album in our discography," says guitarist, vocalist & songwriter Piotr Dobry. "I've been asked many times if the album would be like III. Of course not, we don't want to record albums that would sound the same and I think we've already shown it. This album is a natural continuation of our previous albums, I think nobody will doubt they listen to Weedpecker!"


Today, the band has shared a first single taken from “IV”. Dive into Weedpecker‘s enthralling sound universe and listen to “Fire Far Away” right here:

“IV” is a deep, vividly textured psychedelic rock record with tons of layers begging to be picked apart upon multiple spins. Right from its start and driving album opener, it’s immediately evdient the band brings new elements into the mix. Etherial keys and twisting guitar lines meld in harmony, giving way to chunky riffs. The album surprises with mellow psychedelic gems reminiscent of early Tame Impala, blistering Oh Sees-esque rock bursts and of course the trademark melodic heavy riffage. Former co-lead guitarist Bartek has teamed up with the band in the position of engineer and producer, while also lending his arrangement skills. This combination of new input and experimentation has led to the most radical Weedpecker record thus far, a killer album which will doubtless make a late entry for 2021’s album of the year!

 “IV: The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts” will be available on 180gr. transparent yellow LP including download card and on CD, the album pre- sale will start on Friday, October 22, via Stickman Records at THIS LOCATION!


[ artwork by Maciej Kamuda ]


“IV” track listing:

01. No Heartbeat Collective
02. Fire Far Away
03. The Stream Of Forgotten Thoughts
04. The Trip Treatment
05. Big Brain Monsters
06. Endless Extensions of Good Vibrations
07. Unusual Perceptions
08. Symbiotic Nova

Find Weedpecker Online: