Sunday 15 November 2015

BEESUS -The Rise of Beesus (Album Review)

Release date: December 17th 2015. Label: Goodfellas/New Sonic Records. Format: CD/DD

The Rise Of Beesus – Tracklisting

1. Rise Of Beesus
2. 6ft Under Box
3. Stonerslam
4. Waltzer
5. Kusa
6. Zenza
7. Sonic Doom_Stoner Youth
8. Mata la Verg├╝enza
9. Beesus In Dope
10. ...And.

Band Members:



Italian Noise/Sludge/Stoner Metal collective Beesus are a new band to me. With these guys being from Italy, you know they’re going to bring some different as Italian Sludge/Stoner Metal bands have a reputation in doing things entirely different compared to other bands from other countries. Beesus are no exception as they create noise rock laiden Psych/Sludge/Stoner Metal riffs that have some real menace to them.

Imagine Kyuss, Alice In Chains and The Melvins jamming together and that’s the best way to describe to Beesus. It shouldn’t really work. 3 different bands but somehow Beesus pull this off with style and a certain grace to a point. Even if that grace is buried under by an avalanche of heavy sludgy violent noise rock riffs. Their debut album – The Rise Of Beesus – is an experimental and extremely loud affair.

Opening track – Rise Of Beesus – has a grunge/noise rock feel with the vocals coming straight from the 90s Grunge/Stoner Metal scene. You can hear traces of Psychedelic Desert Rock being crushed under the heavy distorted riffs and it’s a great sound. The music and vocals compliment each other superbly well. A stunning mix of 90s Grunge/Stoner mixed with a more modern Desert/Sludgy doom based atmosphere. The sound can be very glitchy at times so don’t go expecting a smooth ride. This is very lo-fi but the production is handled supremely well. A great song to open the album with.

Second track – 6ft Under Box – opens with a funky drum beat before Beesus return to the noisy chaotic sounds from the opening track. Beesus opt for a more experimental sound with swirls of noise coming at you from all directions. The vocals have a slight punk vibe as the ambient and industrial noises almost drown them out. It’s the Sludge/Stoner riffs drenched in distorted FUZZ that holds your attention as Beesus become ever more confident with their musical surroundings.

Third track – Stonerslam – is perhaps the most straight-forward Stoner Rock/Metal song on the album. It may not sound like that from the opening funk based jams but give it a minute or so and Beesus explode into life generating high voltage Stoner Metal riffs. This song will definitely get you into the mood to party. The vocals are heavily inspired by Alice In Chains though Beesus inject a welcome burst of The Melvins style humour into the lyrics.

Fourth Track – Waltzer – is a bass-heavy affair with the band opting for the familiar sound of distorted noise rock grooves with the industrial based Sludge/Grunge/Stoner rhythms having an almost claustrophobic feel. Beesus have a deep sense of fun with their music. It maybe a dark and twisted kind of fun but this album is very addictive.

Beesus impress most with the lengthier tracks such as Kusa, Sonic Doom/Stoner Youth and Beesus In Dope as Beesus experiment more with their music to create some of the albums heaviest and trippiest moments. Distortion is the main weapon of choice as the Noise Rock vibe goes into the overdrive. The vocals range from aggressive clean vocals to the heavier almost death based growls and howls.

Sonic Doom/Stoner Youth is my favourite song off the album as it’s a doomy psychedelic mess. I mean that as compliment. The song drifts from one genre to the next without a care in the world. Beesus even start to channel trippy Post-Rock sounds and it makes you wonder what’s going to happen next. The vocals from Touis are impressive and you can feel that he’s losing his mind here.

The Rise Of Beesus is a crazy, multiple-personality riff-fest and it may drive you to the verge of insanity but what a brilliant and action packed ride that awaits you.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Claire at Purple Sage PR for the promo. The Rise Of Beesus will be available to buy on CD/DD via Goodfellas/New Sonic Records from December 17th 2015.