Monday 7 December 2020

Elephant Tree - Live At Day Of Doom (Album Review)

Release Date: 11th December 2020. Label. Magnetic Eye Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Live At Day Of Doom - Tracklisting

1. Aphotic Blues (Live)
2. Dawn (Live) 05:12
3. Wither (Live)
4. Surma (Live)
5. In Suffering (Live)
6. Attack of the Altaica (Live)
7. Circles (Live in-studio)


UK Psych Doom/Stoner Rockers Elephant Tree made a mighty return to the scene with their 3rd full length album HABITS earlier this year. 4 years after their last acclaimed release and it was very much worth the wait seeing the musical direction the band ended upon with that acclaimed record.

Elephant Tree are back with their first Live Album with Day Of Doom Live which they performed last year from their previous label - Magnetic Eye Records back in 2019. The band flew out to Brooklyn, New York to perform at the legendary Saint Vitus venue with other bands on the Magnetic Eye Records roster. (Horsehunter, DOMKRAFT and Summoner are the other 3 Live Albums being released as well).

Magnetic Eye Records invited our four flagship bands to perform at our DAY OF DOOM label showcase, a once-in-a-lifetime gathering of our premier bands on the same stage.

Each performance was carefully captured to be issued as an exclusive live album to commemorate the event and the first decade in business of Magnetic Eye Records.

Elephant Tree play a stunning set made up of songs from their first two albums which were released on Magnetic Eye Records. So don’t be expecting any new songs from their latest album. Just the classics from Theia and their 2016 self-titled release. The band is in buoyant and on fine form from start to finish.

Elephant Tree play their well-known hits to an appreciative audience such as: Aphotic Blues, Dawn, Wither, Surma and Attack Of The Altaica being some of the best sounding and most energetic songs contained on the record.

Live At Day Of Doom does everything that all Live Albums do and makes you feel part of the action. The sound quality and production is excellent on this release. All of the 4 live albums being released by Magnetic Eye Records all sound stunning.

If you’re a fan of Elephant Tree then this is a must have release to add to your collection. If this is your first time listening to the band then it offers the most perfect opportunity to experience one of the best Doom/Stoner Metal bands the UK has to offer.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Magnetic Eye Records for the promo.

You can buy Elephant Tree - Day Of Doom Live - from Magnetic Eye Records from Dec 11th 2020 on CD/DD/Vinyl.


Official | Facebook | BandCamp