Monday 24 October 2016

11Paranoias - Reliquary for a Dreamed of World (Album Review)

Release date: October 28th 2016. Label: Ritual Productions. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Reliquary for a Dreamed of World – Tracklisting

1.Peripheral Metamorphosis
2.Destroying Eyes
4.Mutus Liber
5.Meditation on the Void
6.Phantom Pyramid
7.Milk of Amnesia

Band Members:

Adam Richardson - Bass, Vocals
Mike Vest - Guitars
Nathan Perrier - Drums


11Paranoias return with full length, “Reliquary For A Dreamed Of World”, which is by no means a modest album. It is more the keeping of a procrastinated appointment with a voluntary, therapeutic treatment process through a heavy audible nightmare, experienced by the intelligent schizophrenic audiophile. This record augments and holds the listener with heavy eyelids shuddered down by the sound of bedlam, as your mind runs from reality into the album’s outstretched chords, which embrace beyond the mere cortical structure of auditory reason. The songs provide an overdose through a variety of noises, all with different tones and glowing resonances. The tunes are as follows…

Peripheral Metamorphosis - this track dangerously throbs along with the band’s own brand of distortion through nicely chosen amplifiers and slowly keeps time while nudging vocal pain forward through the crude atmospheric noise.

Destroying Eyes – this is essentially metal music created in a sewer by slimy “fishmen” who have been accidentally grown through an unexpected experiment in waste management. These guys moonlight with the underground utility company, speak to us in echolocation and once they snake the pipes, they pick things up as the sound drives without hindrances through a subterranean maze craze of crunch and commotion.

Avallaunius – in this track you will hear octaves from the ocean fathoms, showcasing a sea accident or maritime disaster with no identifiable injuries. Cymbals explode and guitars feed back their surplus power. Great stuff.

Mutus Liber – this song is constructed with sepulchral bass donations that fill an empty casket, alongside painful distorted guitar zooms, both amidst mudslide vocals, all accompanied by drums to make your earlobes quiver.

Mediation On The Void – It is time to take a psychedelic ride down the Floydian Fallopian tubes in order to witness the birth of besmirched meat on Iommi’s butcher block. The use of sonic effects are sheer perfection on this tune, advertising electric frenzy, manifested under hallucinogenic influence, forever increasing the strength of echoes, screams, whispers and unmitigated cybernetic madness. Lock the storage shed, turn the volume to 11 and go somewhat insane on your way to becoming a better person. This is a confident and choice favorite.

Phantom Pyramid is a track that was captured by the demented choir who provide the background music for your confession to a mummified priest who is stuffed with berries and oil, giving you your resultant penance as a doom loaded milkshake with a multi paranoid sound sprinkled topping. This is a splendidly made song and truly another clear favorite on this album.

Milk Of Amnesia is the most traditional song on the entire album. It is short and catchy, making it time to shake hands once again with Mr. Reality.

Overall this album is a magnificent musical concoction that trudges through one’s acoustical plumbing, removing the clogs of melodious blandness that have accumulated through the common drivel barraging our tune filled library.

This is a recorded shrine, made by masterful princes, through radiculopathic, doom trumpeted daffodils, that contains all the musical relics and strange thoughts dedicated to a sonic dream world of altered consciousness.

Words by Nick Palmisano

Thanks to Jack at Rarely Unable PR for the promo. Reliquary for a Dreamed of World will be available to buy via Ritual Productions on CD/DD/Vinyl from October 28th 2016.