Wednesday, 7 March 2018

Killer Boogie - Acid Cream (Album Review)

Release date: 09th March 2018. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Acid Cream – Tracklisting

1. Superpusher ’69
2. Escape From Reality
3. Atomic Race
4. Am I Daemon
5. Let The Birds Fly
6. Dino-Sour
7. Brother In Time
8. Mississippi
9. The Black Widow
10. The Day Of The Melted Ice Cream
11. I Wanna A Woman Like You




Italian Classic Rockers - Killer Boogie - return with another slice of seventies sounding Doom based Psychedelic Rock. Acid Cream features an old fashioned sound that will appeal not only to the Classic/Retro Rock crowd but also the modern Stoner Rock fan as well. If you're a fan of Kadavar, Black Sabbath, MC5 and Uncle Acid then this album will appeal to you. Killer Boogie have included a high amount of spaced out psychedelic sounds which make a fleeting appearance on the superb opening track - Superpusher 69.

Second track - Escape From Reality - has an early seventies classic rock sound with fast-paced guitars and great vocals from Gabriele. Killer Boogie don't break new ground here but they will keep you superbly entertained throughout the entire album. The loud and vibrant guitars have plenty of energy and attitude to them with Killer Boogie fully embracing the legendary seventies sound. They may have a stadium rock persona about that at times but at least Killer Boogie aim high and never lose that focus on the remaining songs on the album.

You may recognise lead singer/guitarist from Gabriele from the legendary Psych/Fuzz/Stoner Metal band - Black Rainbows. Gabriele adapts a more laid-back persona compared to Black Rainbows and he has more fun here. His vocals are more easy-going. So it's very good to hear Gabriele adapting a different vocal style that we are normally used to.

Anyway back to the album. Killer Boogie have written eleven great songs here with Atomic Race, Am I Daemon, Dino-sour, Brother In Time and The Black Widow impressing me the most. As Killer Boogie use every trick going in the Psychedelic/Classic Rock Rulebook in expanding their sound to different levels. The instrumental work is perhaps the highlight of the entire album. As Killer Boogie include a wide range of different sounds from the Hard Rock spectrum.

The production of the album has a certain vintage sound and feel to it. This album actually feels that it was recorded over forty years ago. As Killer Boogie embrace their classic/retro rock sound in a huge way. The lyrics feel they were influenced by Iggy Pop/The Stooges at times. As they are quite rebellious in parts and this allows the album to have a more punk/garage rock feel.

Acid Cream did take me a few listens to actually enjoy and fully appreciate. Maybe because there's a lot going on within the album. Killer Boogie may sound like your standard Psychedelic/Classic Rock band. However appearances can be deceiving. This album has many different layers to it. Maybe the band does overplay the psychedelic elements at times on the album. However this doesn't stop Acid Cream being a superbly entertaining album. Killer Boogie have delivered the goods with this album.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Claire at Purple Sage PR for the promo. Acid Cream will be available to buy on DD/CD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from March 16th 2018.