Thursday 2 December 2021

40 Watt Sun release second single from upcoming album, 'Perfect Light'

40 Watt Sun release second single from upcoming album, 'Perfect Light'

40 Watt Sun has today released the second single from their upcoming album, Perfect LightUntil is streaming on all digital platforms from today, and follows the first single, The Spaces in Between, which was released in October. Perfect Light will be released on January 21 - digitally via Cappio Records and on physical formats via Svart Records. Pre-orders are live now.

Joining Patrick Walker (guitars and vocals), the track features guest musicians Andrew Prestidge on drums, and Roland Scriver on bass guitar (both also of The Osiris Club). Backing vocals are sung by Nicola Hutchison.


Spotify | Apple Music | Bandcamp | YouTube

Perfect Light is a collection of eight songs recorded across a year, in Hertfordshire (Chat Bizarre Studios) and London (Holy Mountain Studios). Whilst Patrick's vivid melodies remain as powerful as ever, and his familiar lyrical themes and fixations continue to haunt this new album of material, the music itself marks another transition in the development of his songwriting. 

The well-crafted, personal songs range from sparse, unaccompanied voice and guitar, through gently layered instrumentation featuring piano and delicate brush work, to moments more reflective of the warm, subtle overdrive of the band's previous album, Wider than the Sky (2016). Like Patrick's best work, the songs quietly build with emotion, and ache with a darkness and melancholy beauty.

 Perfect Light track list

 1) Reveal 
 2) Behind My Eyes
 3) Until
 4) Colours
 5) The Spaces in Between
 6) Raise Me Up
 7) A Thousand Miles
 8) Closure

Perfect Light will be available as a 2CD numbered digibook containing a 38-page booklet of lyrics and photography by Patrick Walker bound within the gatefold. The second disc contains a 26+ minute live EP recorded at United Reform Church, Hertfordshire. 

The vinyl edition will be available as a 2LP gatefold set on black vinyl, with a 28-page booklet featuring lyrics and photography. There will also be a limited edition pressed on yellow vinyl.  

The first vinyl pressing will also include a bonus 12” single in a unique picture sleeve, featuring two alternative versions of album tracks, including a version of Reveal recorded with Emma Ruth Rundle. 

Signed/personalised copies are available direct from the band web store.

Thanks to Pioneer Music Press for all of the press details.