Thursday 30 January 2020

BLUTBAD - Alcohodyssey (Album Review) And Video Premiere For Flash Goldon

Release date: January 31st 2020. Label: Argonauta Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Alcohodyssey - Tracklisting

01 Lost in Space (feat. Kristallo)
02 Alcohodyssey part.1 (The space adventures of the hopshunters)
03 Die Alone
04 Sunday of Living Dead
05 Space Trumps
06 I want to believe
07 Alcohodyssey part.2 (The great escape from Bikini planet)
08 Steam Road
09 Interstellaris 0042
10 Flash Goldon (feat. Niko from Own Paw Thee Die)
11 Arcade Mood (feat. Kristallo)


Tomi Versetti – Vocals
Manu Il Bello – Guitar/Vocals
Michael Deon – Bass
Davide Tonin – Drums


Blutbad new album Alcohodyssey is an wickedly entertaining romp that takes influence from the realm of Science Fiction with their highly cool take on all things Punk Rock/Stoner Metal. This is a band who don’t take themselves too seriously with outlandish lyrics leading the way.

Opening song – Lost In Space – is an Electronic/Stoner Rock hybrid song with lo-fi production values with “B” movie material written all over it. The quirky Electronic vocals are meant to imitate a Robot of some kind. Maybe from the TV Series in question the song is named after. The glitchy electronic sounds and beeps had me worried. As I was thinking I couldn’t listen to an album full of these different sounds. It would drive me insane. Though it’s quite a cool song to open the album with.

Second song – Alcohodyssey part.1 – opts for a more straight-forward Sludge/Stoner Metal sound where the riffs are fast and precise. There is a Motorhead sensibility within Blutbad’s sound that brings some much needed aggression to the table. The lyrics yet again are inspired by classic Science Fiction lore with the Lemmy inspired vocals of Tomi providing a cool sounding story. The music is lively and allows the band to play some superb riffs along the way.

Third song – Die Alone – is another crazy Punk/Sludge/Stoner Metal affair with the band taking influence from Kvelertak with their music but sounding more vibrant and a lot more fun as well. The lyrics is perhaps the best thing about this album. As the band are quite the wordsmiths with their Sci-Fi inspired lyrics and matching them against addictive heavy Sludge/Stoner grooves.

The rest of the album follows the same crazy “B” movie inspired route over eight more songs with Blutbad playing to their maximum potential. The album never lets up with the band playing a faster style of Punk/Sludge/Stoner Metal that can leave you breathless in places. The production is good but there are moments where the album sounds too raw at times but nothing major to stop you from enjoying the whole wild ride the band have created here.

Other good songs to check out are: Sunday Of Living Dead, Space Tramps, I Want To Believe, Steam Road and Flash Goldon. As these songs show you what’s so good about Blutbad. The energetic lyrics and heavy sounding riffs have quite an inventive flair about them and it’s good to hear a band playing to their strengths even if they’re using Science Fiction Pop-Culture as their main influences.

If you’re a fan of Red Fang, Motorhead and Valient Thorr then Blutbad should be at the very top of your list for cool bands to check out now.

Overall, Alcohodyssey is an exciting and crazy album to listen to that has something different to offer.

Words by Steve Howe

You can see the video for their superb new song Flash Goldon from the upcoming new album.

Thanks to Mona at All Noir PR for all of the details. Alcohodyssey will be available to buy on CD/DD via Argonauta Records from Jan 31st 2020.