Tuesday 12 January 2021

KOMATSU - Rose Of Jericho (Album Review)

Release date: February 05th 2021. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Rose Of Jericho – Tracklisting

1. Stare Into The Dawn
2. Solitary Cage
3. The Suit
4. Blood Moon
5. Son of Sam
6. Rose of Jericho
7. Blackbird
8. Call Of The Wolves
9. Om


Mo Truijens – Lead singer, guitar
Mathijs Bodt – Guitar, backing vocals
Martijn Mansvelders – Bass guitar, backing vocals
Jos Roosen – Drums


Dutch Stoner Metal masters KOMATSU return with their 4th album – Rose Of Jericho – and it’s a very cool album to fully experience when the band are in full flight. KOMATSU have always had a knack at writing superbly structured songs that have the right balance of HEAVY and MELLOW grooves that play across the whole Sludge/Stoner Metal backdrop.

Rose Of Jericho allows KOMATSU to be more melodic than they’ve ever been before but the band never forgot to bring a heavy thunderous confidence when the album becomes more gloomier and quite progressive as a result. Matching TORCHE-esque melodies and later-era Mastodon/Baroness Progressive Sludge sounds have never sounded so good and quite damn original as well.

Opening song – Stare Into The Dawn – has a Faith No More style riff to start the song with before moving into KOMATSU’s trademark direct grooves. The Psychedelic moments move the song into into a more uplifting environment before a downbeat Sludgy vibe keeps everything real and grounded. The vocals from Mo are present and confident as ever.

Second song – Solitary Cage – is a more subtle Blues based offering but still retaining the catchy Sludge/Stoner Metal riffs we fully expect from KOMATSU. The song has echoes of the 90s Grunge scene especially when the whole song becomes more emotionally involved and that’s also down to the world-weary lyrics the band have written for this song and the whole album.

It’s not all about bleak things on this record as KOMATSU have demonstrated on previous releases they bring an element of FUN to their music.

Third song – The Suit – could have easily came from their acclaimed last album A New Horizon with the mix of Psychedelic Rock and Spaced Out Heavy Vibes. The song is fast-paced and is one of the standout songs on the record. The song does have a slight Post-Stoner element when the quiet parts appear and everything is played at a less threatening pace.

KOMATSU aim big for the rest of the album with an avalanche of soaring melodies, guitar solos and even more impressive vocals allowing the listener to forget all about the modern world for the remainder of the album.

Fourth Song – Blood Moon and Fifth Song – Son Of Sam – are my favourite parts of the album as KOMATSU adapt a more FUNKY and DOOM based outlook and have a devilish time playing some finely played Doom Metal riffs. Son Of Sam has a slight CHURCH OF MISERY flow to it all but you can’t help but singing along to the fantastic lyrics contained on the song.

The second half of the album perhaps contains some of the heaviest moments on the whole record but KOMATSU never rest on their laurels. As they try different things and it’s good to hear and most importantly feel the end results on such a thrilling and superbly put together album.

KOMATSU have signed to Heavy Psych Sounds for this release after leaving their original label Argonauta Records (another fantastic Italian Record Label) and Heavy Psych Sounds are one of the premier underground labels for bands to align themselves to. So you know that Rose Of Jericho will sound great from start to finish. Credit also has to goto Peter van Elderen who recorded and mixed the album with Pieter Kloos handling mastering duties.

Rose Of Jericho is another exceptional release from KOMATSU and perhaps the most complete album they’ve released to date.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Purple Sage PR for the promo. Rose Of Jericho will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from February 5th 2020.


Official | Facebook | BandCamp