Tuesday 26 January 2021

Sonic Flower - Rides Again (Album Review)


Release Date: 29th January 2021. Record Label: Heavy Psych Sounds Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Rides Again - Tracklisting

Super Witch

Black Sheep

Jungle Cruise

Captain Forest

Stay Away (The Meters Cover)

Quicksand Planet

Earthquake (Graham Central Station Cover)


Tatsu Mikami - Bass

Takenori Hoshi - Guitar

Arisa - Guitar

Keisuke Fukuwa - Drums


Rides Again is the new album from Japanese Psych Rockers Sonic Flower who are best known for being a spin-off band from legendary Doomsters - Church Of Misery. Sonic Flower released their self titled debut album back in 2003 and started recording their follow-up album back in 2005. However the band broke up during these recording sessions and was never released until now. The rumour is that the band are releasing a new album later this year with a brand new vocalist which is also being released via Heavy Psych Sounds.

Rides Again is more of a mini album lasting almost 29 minutes with 5 new compositions and 2 covers which the band perform with their usual top-notch talent. Rides Again is purely instrumental and sees the band play a more boogie orientated style of Blues Rock, Psych Rock and Stoner Rock. This is far as removed you can get from Church Of Misery but the band do bring some moody doom based elements on the record,

Everything is funky and has a fresh classic rock appeal which you hear on the excellent opening song - Super Witch. You can hear a “Deep Purple” influence on this track and it’s quite bouncy, light on heavy grooves but still provides bewitching entertainment.

Songs such as Black Sheep, Jungle Cruise, Captain Frost and Quicksand Planet round up the original songs contained on the record with Sonic Flower playing a vibrant and heavy mix of Psychedelic Blues/Stoner Rock which is firmly rooted in the musicians involved love for everything 70’s Hard Rock and Classic Rock. The songs on the album can sound quite similar in places but it won’t get in the way of enjoying this cool groove-laiden record.

Sonic Flower include two covers on the album with Stay Away by The Meters and Earthquake by Graham Central Station. Two cool tracks given a more Psychedelic and Riffier makeover with Sonic Flower adding some of the more hippest sounds to these two songs in general. 

The production of Rides Again is good for the most part but there are quite a few rough sounding moments that could have been done with more work but it does allow this album to have a more rough and ready feel.

The main thing about Rides Again that it’s been given the love, care and attention it richly deserves. This is the first time the record has been heard since those initial recording sessions and if you’re a fan of Sonic Flower or perhaps Church Of Misery then it’s an excellent and exciting album to add to your record collection.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Purple Sage PR for the promo.

Rides Again will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds Records from January 29th 2021.