Saturday 20 August 2016

Fuzz Evil - S/T (Album Review)

Release date: September 30th 2016. Label: Battleground Records. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Fuzz Evil – S/T – Tracklisting

Good Medicine
My Fuzz
Killing The Sun
Bring Them Through
Odin Has Fallen
Black Dread

Band Members:

Wayne Rudell – Vocals/Guitar
Joseph Rudell – Bass Guitar
Daniel Graves – Drums

Arthur Seay (House Of Broken Promises/Unida) – Lead Guitar on ‘Good Medicine’
Marlin Tuttle – Drums
Brian Gold – Keys


Fuzz Evil’s self-titled album is one that merges vintage Stoner Rock with a more modern Fuzz Rock attitude to match. The band comprising members of Powered Wig Machine so you can’t question the pedigree of the band members as they know how to write a mean riff with great lyrics to match. Nor are they Powered Wig Machine II. As Fuzz Evil are a very different band to Powered Wig Machine.

Opening track – Good Medicine – sees Fuzz Evil play Heavy Psych based Stoner with elements of Fuzz being added. The band capture the vibe of classic Stadium/Hard Rock with the vocals and lyrics firmly rooted in more modern surroundings. Fuzz Evil is here to give you a good time and it’s an infectious groove that keeps you entertained to the very end.

Second track – My Fuzz – is one of the albums heaviest offerings with the band leaning towards a more Doom Rock/Metal atmosphere but the Fuzz remains strong with this song. The instrumental work is superb yet again with lead vocalist Wayne excelling and showing his passion for the legendary stoner rock vocalists down the years. The music may sound simplistic at times but you need to listen further as these guys include a lot of different ideas into their music. Especially when the trademark guitar solos appear.

Third track – Killing The Sun – has a certain QOTSA feel. Fast-paced guitars and intense drumming that make this another winning track from the Fuzz Evil crew. The vibe does become very trippy and psychedelic towards the end.

The other three songs on the album – Bring Them Through, Odin Has Fallen and Black Dread – sees Fuzz Evil only expand their Fuzz/Stoner sound with heavier riffs being the main order of business. Odin Has Fallen and Black Dread are the two standout songs that not only demands your full attention but ones that will have you rocking out in agreement. Black Dread contains perhaps the heaviest riffs on the album as Fuzz Evil go all out with heavy psychedelic riffs.

I only have one issue with the album and that is the run-time. It’s too short. The album only runs for thirty minutes which is a shame as it could have easily included a couple of more songs to make the album last longer. If you miss the classic early days of QOTSA then Fuzz Evil’s debut album is the album for you. As Fuzz Evil manage to create a great identity of their own where the music is loud, powerful and brimming with cool ideas. Yeah, Fuzz Evil has delivered on all counts. Miss this and miss out.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Richard at Sheltered Life PR for the promo. Fuzz Evil self-titled album will be available to buy via Battleground Records from September 30th 2016 on CD/DD/Vinyl.