Saturday 27 August 2016

Iron Altar - S/T (EP Review)

Release date: August 22nd 2016. Label: Self Released. Format: CD/DD

Iron Altar – S/T – Tracklisting

1.Nothing 06:25
2.Followers 04:43
3.Rising Tide 04:27
4.Blood Rain 04:16

Band Members:

Andrew Callis - Vocals,
Daniel Drever - Guitar,
Simon Anger - Bass,
Lyle Brown - Drums


It's hard to believe that Iron Altar have only been going strong as a band for less than a year. Going by their debut EP, these guys could have a very bright future ahead of them. Their sound is not the easiest to categorize but it's sure hugely enjoyable to listen to. Iron Altar blend Thrash, Heavy Metal, Groove Metal and a ton of Stoner Metal attitude which is all held together by a certain Southern Metal charm.

Sure the music isn't the most original but Iron Altar's debut EP is loud, brash, heavy and packed full of great riffs. Iron Altar have a vicious approach to their music especially with Andrew's killer vocals. Opening track – Nothing – sees Iron Altar create a heavy Southern/Thrash/Stoner/NWOBHM kind of sound that will appeal to perhaps the more hardened Stoner/Heavy Metal fan. I can hear shades of Mastodon, COC, Zakk Wylde and Black Label Society running through Iron Altar's riffs and that's no bad thing.

The rest of the EP follows the same template as the opening track but Iron Altar do change the mood from time to time. Second track – Followers – is southern metal/thrash style number with the band playing at a fast pace. The drumming in particular is very impressive indeed. Heavy progressive beats make this one of the standout songs on the EP.

The production on the EP is first rate. For a debut release, this sounds superb from start to finish. The whole tone of the EP is loud and one that demands your attention. This is a band we all should be keeping an eye on as this could be the start of promising career for Iron Altar. Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Words by Steve Howe