Saturday 23 September 2017

Turn Me On Dead Man - Heavymetal Mothership (Album Review)

Release date: October 13th 2017. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Heavymetal Mothership – Tracklisting

01. Vimana
02. Asteroid 9
03. Mind Of Oz
04. Maharishi
05. Master Planet + Mother Star + Secret Moon
06. Cosmo Nymph
07. Monolith 1971
08. White Slave Black Master
09. Diamond Endless
10. Hologram Universe
11. Forest Damask
12. Room 237
13. Floating in Zen


Mykill ZIggy: Guitars, Vocals, Synthesizers, Bass, Phasers and Lasers
Nick Doom: Guitars and Music Theory
Christopher Melville Lyman: Drums, Percussion, and Vocals
Attis Ngo: Bass, Keyboards on 'Hologram'


Heavymetal Mothership is the new album from Heavy Metal/Stoner Metal outfit - Turn Me On Dead Man - and their fifth overall. This is quite a surprise as I’ve never heard of these guys before. Honest. I don't know where I've been all these years as this album is pure stoner metal excess of the highest order. This album was originally released in 2016 but is now being reissued by Heavy Psych Sounds.

Yeah, the album is overblown and OTT but that doesn't stop Heavymetal Mothership being a fantastic listen from start to finish. Adding elements of Heavy Metal, Classic Rock, Doom and Psych Rock to their already bombastic style of Stoner Metal make Turn Me On Dead Man a true force of nature to be reckoned with. The vocals will have you either singing along or headbanging in agreement.

Songs such as: Vimana, Asteroid G, Mind Of Oz, Maharishi and Floating In Zen show a flair for classic sounding Monster Magnet style Space/Stoner Rock. Though Turn Me On Dead Man add a more heavy metal approach with thrashy guitar riffs giving the album a very rebellious feel compared to other bands of their ilk. The music can be very fast-paced and uneven at times but Turn Me On Dead Man soon return to winning ways. With an epic collection of twelve songs held on the album, it's good to see the band writing songs lasting between two minutes to four minutes each.

There are moments of prog rock that will no doubt impress the serious prog rock/heavy metal fan. As Turn Me On Dead Man is not your usual Stoner Metal band. This is a band willing to take risks with and to say FUCK YOU and TO HELL WITH THE CONSEQUENCES. If you're a first time listener to Turn Me On Dead Man's world then is perhaps the best place to start. It was with me before I checked out their superb back catalogue. Long-time fans of the band will no doubt love what is on offer here.

Heavymetal Mothership impresses and entertains from the start. What more could you possibly want.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Claire at Purple Sage PR for the promo. Heavymetal Mothership will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from October 13th 2017.