Friday 3 May 2019

Nebula - Holy Shit (Album Review)

Release date: June 07th 2019. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Holy Shit – Tracklisting

1.) Man's Best Friend
2.) Messiah
3.) It's All Over
4.) Witching Hour
5.) Fistful of Pills
6.) Tomorrow Never Comes
7.) Gates of Eden
8.) Let's Get Lost
9.) The Cry of A Tortured World


Eddie Glass (guitar / vocals)
Tom Davies (bass / backing vocals)
Michael Amster (drums)


Greetings all,

Holy Shit may just be the most appropriately titled record ever. After nearly 10 years Nebula has unleashed one of the jaw dropping-est, straight up killer records in recent memory. Having reformed a few years back, the band returns with their trademark, hazy, grunge fuelled brand of stoner rock that whether we realized it or not, we needed and were missing. This is the band’s 6th full length, along with a slew of EP's and whatnot and honestly it is, in my humble opinion, their best record to date. The riffs are strong, the vibe is hazy, the song writing is top notch.

Man’s Best Friend opens the album and after a few seconds if some kind of almost unidentifiable sound (wink, wink) kicks in hard with a killer riff/groove in this loving homage to Lucifer. All praise to him and the awesomeness he brings. The dark, heavy fuzz continues with Messiah, a slightly slower tempo opens the track before kicking in hard and heavy. My favorite track on the album follows, The sludged out, riff heavy, catchy as hell, It’s All Over has a real grunge inspired feel and a chorus that snags your soul.

Witching Hour keeps the driving beat going with a march like feel and strained vocal, classic rock vibe. 

Fistful of Pills is a killer, mostly instrumental, reverb laden homage to spaghetti westerns and surf rock. Another amazing song follows with slower, but ever shifting, Tomorrow Never Comes. The song rocks hard, while incorporating some acoustic guitars and a ton of fuzz before morphing into smooth, kind of flamenco inspired outro. Gates of Eden has cool retro late 60’s/early 70’s psych pop feel. Perhaps a little Kinks/Stones or the such. The band channels a full on early Mudhoney vibe on Let’s Get Lost. Perhaps a bit of homage to their old label Sub Pop. The track sounds like it came out of those late 80’s/early 90’s garage/grunge records from the Pacific Northwest.

The band brings in the reverb and acoustic guitars for the moody closing track. The Cry of a Tortured World is a 7+ minute masterpiece of blissful, stoned out blues rock that ends the record on a harmonious note.

There isn’t much more to be said about this band, their awesome discography, and this amazing record. If you are reading this, you obviously have to know Nebula and what they are about. I am glad they are back cruising around the desert, or the cosmos, or whatever murky haze you might see. Go out and completely dig on the bands righteous return. Here’s to more shit coming our way!

- Todd S - Instagram @alltheghoststhathauntyou

Words by Todd Stealey

Thanks to Claire at Purple Sage PR and Carl at Action PR for the promo. Holy Shit will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from June 07th 2019.