Thursday 14 March 2019

Colour Out Of Space – S/T (Album Review)

Release date: Jan 30th 2019. Label: Self Released. Format: DD

Colour Out Of Space – S/T – Tracklisting

01. Parasite
02. Meatbags
03. Colour Out of Space, Pt. 1
04. Colour Out of Space, Pt. 2
05. Colour Out of Space, Pt. 3
06. Soma
07. Holy Fraud
08. Above
09. Outro


Colour Out Of Space new album is one that taken me by surprise recently. As I haven’t seen much publicity for this album within the Sludge/Stoner Metal community. I bought the album from Amazon, as I was hooked via the short preview of the album and YouTube video that I managed to find.

So what does the band bring to the Sludge/Stoner Metal scene. Well it’s nothing that we haven’t heard before. However, the music is very addictive with the band taking influence from Red Fang, Baroness and Mastodon whilst still highly original in their own right. The album does take a lot of creative risks along the way by adding soundclips from films such as Twelve Monkeys, Apocalypse Now and classic TV series – True Detective and merging them with a heavy progressive Sludge/Stoner Metal vibe.

Opening song – Parasite – starts with a soundbyte from Twelve Monkeys before the music goes into overdrive which has a slight Red Fang influence running in the background. The fast-paced riffs are played superbly well and the lyrics have a deep social conscience feel to them.

Second song – Meatbags – sees the band opt for a Post-metallic style of music and adding elements of Progressive Sludge Metal to their music. The swirling psychedelic noises makes Colour Out Of Space take full command of their music and creating one of the standout songs on the album. The vocals are quite varied and different throughout the song.

The next three songs is the three part opus – Colour Out Of Space – and the band carry on their Progressive Sludge/Stoner Metal sound though adding a more “Space Rock” feel to their music. The music can be quite abrupt and loud at times but this shows another side to the band’s music. The lyrics and vocals are maybe not as strong compared to the other songs contained on the album but overall this is a superbly played three part song that just adds to the overall thrilling atmosphere of the entire album.

The second half of the album sees Colour Out Of Space play a heavier style of Sludge/Stoner Metal that Red Fang would be proud to call their own especially on songs such as SOMA, Holy Fraud and Above.

Overall, Colour Out Of Space new album is a thrilling and constantly engaging affair that keep you entertained for a very long time come.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Words by Steve Howe

Colour Out Of Space is available to buy on all good Digital Platforms such as Amazon, Deezer and iTunes.