Tuesday 19 March 2019

Brant Bjork - Jacoozzi (Album Review)

Release date: April 05th 2019. Label: Heavy Psych Sounds. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

Jacoozzi – Tracklisting

1. Can’t Out Run The Sun
2. Guerrilla Funk
3. Mexico City Blues
4. Five Hundred Thousand Dollars
5. Black & White Wonderland
6. Oui
7. Mixed Nuts
8. Lost In Race
9. Polarized
10. Do You Love Your World?


Jacoozzi is the "long lost" album by Desert Rock legend - Brant Bjork. This is an album I've been looking forward to hearing for the best part of five years now. When I've interviewed Brant over the years, I always asked him what's happening with Jacoozzi and he always advised that's he's still working on the album and that it will be released when it's ready.

Well the time is now and it's a different album from Brant that we've heard recently. This album is more of a laid-back Jazz influenced album. The album has elements of Funk, Blues, Classic Rock and Desert Rock. Some people maybe surprised with the direction that Brant has took with this album as it's very laidback compared to his recent studio output. This is a good record to hear from Brant and once again this proves why he's one of the best musicians within the Desert/Stoner Rock scene. The album flows at its own pace and is never in a hurry to get from A to B.

Opening song - Can't Out Run The Sun - is a trippy jazz based number with hazy Desert Rock Guitars and Progressive Drums that allows Brant to try a different style of music. The song is one of the best songs contained on the album and offers the perfect glimpse on what to expect for the rest of the album. Sure it's a challenging listen at times but it's equally addictive with Brant's personality shining all the way through.

Jacoozzi has quite a warm fuzzy feeling that allows the majority of the songs leaving you in a daze. Standout songs have to be Guerrilla Funk, Mexico City Blues, Black & White Wonderland, Polarized and Do You Love The World. As this is where Brant has the most fun and creates a wild array of different sounds. The album is never boring and will leave you guessing where the album will take you next.

Brant only sings vocals on the excellent final song - Do You Love Your World. However, Jacoozzi is primarily an Instrumental Rock album that fuses a wide range of different musical elements over the last fifty years or so. The album has its fair share of heavy distorted sounds that I didn't expect at all.

The production is superb throughout and I wouldn't expect anything less from a Brant Bjork record and Heavy Psych Sounds who are releasing the album. Overall, Jacoozzi is another standout album from Brant Bjork. The album may not be for everyone but give this a try and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Words by Steve Howe

Thanks to Claire at Purple Sage PR, Mona at All Noir PR and Carl at Action PR for the promo. Jacoozzi will be available to buy on CD/DD/Vinyl via Heavy Psych Sounds from April 05th 2019.


OfficialFacebook | BandCamp