Tuesday 14 November 2023

Progressive sludge outfit Lord Dying release new animated video 'The Endless Road Home'

Credit: Neil DaCosta

Portland progressive sludge masters Lord Dying have unveiled their haunting new animated video for 'The Endless Road Home'. It's the closing track of their long-awaited new full-length, Clandestine Transcendence, which is released 19th January 2024 via MNRK Heavy.

Watch the video to 'The Endless Road Home' here: https://youtu.be/Yuw4F8hRyCc

Pre-order Clandestine Transcendence here: https://lorddying.ffm.to/clandestinetranscendence

Frontman Erik Olson comments on the latest single: "'The Endless Road Home' is dedicated to all the road dogs, travellers, bands, crew, people that make tours happen, people that go to shows and general rabble rousers. We salute you.”

Lord Dying transform tragedy into triumph. From the earliest rumblings of their first demo and self-titled EP (both issued in 2011), through the piledriving force of Summon The Faithless (2013) and crushing despair of Poisoned Altars (2015), the band have conjured masterfully melancholic heavy music for the misanthropic, with grit and grime.

In 2019, they delivered Mysterium Tremendum, a record Kerrang! declared a “prog-metal masterpiece.” The heady and adventurous existential meditation on death kicked off a trilogy and that story continues in 2023 with an increasingly ambitious follow-up, the aptly named Clandestine Transcendence.

Lord Dying cofounders Erik Olson (guitar, vocals) and Chris Evans (guitar) are joined by Alyssa Mocere (former bassist for Eight Bells), and Kevin Swartz (current drummer of Tithe). Chicago Reader crowned Mysterium Tremendum, “a beautiful meditation on tragedy.” Produced by Converge guitarist Kurt Ballou (High On Fire, Code Orange, Kvelertak) at his God City Studios, Clandestine Transcendence steps even further into the great unknown, filled with riffs and vibes.

Mysterium Tremendum (Latin for “awe-inspiring mystery” or “terrible mystery,” depending on one’s view of existence) began a narrative centered on a central character the band calls The Dreamer, a conceptual theme that drove expansive, sometimes monstrous, and even plaintive and vulnerable music. Olson describes The Dreamer as an immortal being who wants to die. On Clandestine Transcendence, he gets that wish.

Woven throughout the songs, that story and its rich thematic material inform an immersive listen. Tension, drama, and atmosphere abound all over songs like 'The Universe Is Weeping' and 'Unto Becoming.' The massive scope and melodic vocals found on album three expand further on Clandestine Transcendence. Sharpened songwriting, emphasising hooks, helps push both extremes of the band beyond prior limits. Simply put, the softer side is even dreamier; the heavy side is twice as brutal.

Lord Dying are:

Erik Olson – vocals/guitar
Chris Evans – guitar
Alyssa Maucere – bass/vocals
Kevin Swartz – drums

For more information:

Clandestine Transcendence Track listing:

1. The Universe Is Weeping
2. I Am Nothing. I Am Everything
3. Unto Becoming
4. Final Push Into The Sun
5. Dancing On The Emptiness
6. Facing The Incomprehensible
7. A Brief Return To Physical Form
8. A Bond Broken By Death
9. Break In The Clouds (In The Darkness Of Our Minds)
10. Soul Metamorphosis
11. Swimming In The Absence
12. The Endless Road Home

Thanks to Hold Tight PR for all of the details.