Monday 10 July 2017

Youngblood Supercult - The Great American Death Rattle (Album Review)

Release date: August 17th 2017. Label: DHU Records Released. Format: CD/DD/Vinyl

The Great American Death Rattle – Tracklisting

1.The Great American Death Rattle 04:04
2.Burning Messiah 05:01
3.Draugr 04:29
4.Wormwood 04:46
5.The Hot Breath of God 03:57
6.Master of None 04:02
7.Mr. Gallows 05:22
8.Liberty or Death 03:10
9.Sticky Fingers 05:30

Band Members:

Bailey Smith--guitar
Weston Alford--drums
Brad Morris--bass
David Merrill--vocals


US Heavy Blues/Stoner Rockers - Youngblood Supercult - return with their new album - The Great American Death Rattle. An album that sees the band focus more on heavy psychedelic blues based riffs compared to their last album. The album is perhaps their most dark and daring offering to date with the lyrics adding a more gloomy effect. You can tell this by the whole tone and nature of the album. The album is packed full of great riffs but it's the darker atmosphere that makes the most complete album that they have released to date.

Opening track - The Great American Death Rattle - is soulful and Blues Rock laiden slice of Stoner Rock. The song has elements of seventies sounding progressive/hard rock. The lead vocals from David instantly draw you in with heavy guitar based psychedelics that capture the whole mood of the album.

Second track - Burning Messiah - is a song rooted firmly between doomier sounds and an angrier Stoner Metal riff. The song does a feel a bit drawn out at times especially with the epic riff at the end of the song. Though I know long-time fans of the band will perhaps go crazy with this part of the album.

Third track - Draugr - is another well-crafted song with Youngblood Supercult walking a fine line between moments of heavy based riffs and the quieter parts that appear on the album.

Fourth track - Wormwood - sees Youngblood Supercult pay homage to Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin as the sound of the album opts for a more classic feel and primarily those two legendary bands. The vocals have a major Robert Plant influence whilst the riffs are reminiscent of Black Sabbath.

Fifth track - The Hot Breath Of God - is a more diverse offering with the band being fuelled by dark lyrics and slowly played riffs that has a moody FUZZ based atmosphere to it. 

The remaining songs on the album follow the same path as Youngblood Supercult create huge sounding Blues/Stoner noises with the vocals and lyrics adding a more restrained approach. That doesn't stop Youngblood Supercult playing some of the albums heaviest moments on songs such as: Master Of None, Mr Gallows and Sticky Fingers.

The album sounds fantastic with Youngblood Supercult impressing yet again on levels in the sound and volume department.  The Great American Death Rattle could see Youngblood Supercult move onto bigger and better things as this is a true ROCK RECORD in every sense of the word. 

The album pays homage to Youngblood Supercult's musical heroes (perhaps to Fleetwood Mac the most) whilst offering a fresh approach to their music compared to their other albums they've released.

If you're already a fan of Youngblood Supercult then you're going to love this album. If you're new to the world of Youngblood Supercult then prepare to fall in love with this band and enjoy the many fine heavy moments contained on the album.

Words by Steve Howe