Wednesday 17 April 2024


The second album by the Barcelona-based band Maragda will be titled 'Tyrants' and will be released on May 8, 2024, via Spinda Records - pre-orders are now available.

After teasing the title track last month, today they unveil a double single comprising the songs "Skirmish" and "My only link", presenting them in both studio and live versions, with the latter extracted from the live session they recently recorded at Siete Barbas Estudios.

Melodies, atmospheres, compositions of great complexity, and a garage attitude are the main components of 'Tyrants'.

This way, Maragda continues to unveil this highly anticipated album, which serves as a follow-up to their successful self-titled debut album (2021, Spinda Records) and the live EP "The Reckless / Evil Seed" (2022, Spinda Records). In this new musical journey, the band immerses listeners in introspective themes ranging from self-imposed limitations to the fight for values, love, hope, and farewells. All of this unfolds in a hypothetical fantasy universe, where psychedelia and progressive rock continuously merge, adding nuances of other styles like garage.

For the creation of the album "Tyrants", Maragda embarked on a creative journey that took them to the Big Snuff Studios in Berlin, where they collaborated with studio engineer Richard Behrens, renowned for his work with bands like Kadavar and Elder. Subsequently, the mastering was handled by acclaimed engineer Peter Deimel (known for his work with bands like Motorpsycho) at the Black Box Studios in France, solidifying a successful collaboration that began with their debut album.

In the visual department, the band has once again partnered with Error! Design studio (known for works with Explosions In The Sky, Russian Circles, Mastodon) for the album's graphic design, ensuring a cohesive and captivating aesthetic experience for their followers.


1. Tyrants
2. Skirmish
3. Endless
4. My only link
5. Sunset room
6. The singing mountain
7. Godspeed
8. Loose

PRE-ORDER: 22 March 2024

RELEASE DATE: 8 May 2024

'Tyrants' will be available on May 8 through Spinda Records, although it can be pre-ordered in CD and vinyl formats. The vinyl edition will be part of the 'Trippy Series' from the Andalusian label, alongside acts such as Viaje a 800, Moura, The Silver Linings, Empty Full Space, or Moundrag. It will be limited to 400 copies on white vinyl with orange splatters and 100 copies on standard black vinyl.


May 04 | Tenerife (ES) @ Volcano Fest
May 17 | Madrid (ES) @ Madrid Psych Sessions
June 8 | Barcelona (ES) @ Sala Upload (release party)

more to be announced


Thanks to Spinda Records for all of the details.