Thursday 12 October 2017

Owlcrusher - S/T (Album Review)

Release date: July 18th 2017. Label: Seeing Red Records . Format: CD/DD

Owlcrusher – Tracklisting

1.Feeble Preacher 16:54
2.Owlcrusher 11:30
3.Spoiler 14:53


Andrew Spiers-Vocals/Guitar
Damien McKeown-Drums
Steve Hobson-Bass


Blackened Doom/Sludge Metal collective – Owlcrusher – debut album is an extreme musical odyssey that showcases some of the heaviest and filthiest sounds you'll likely encounter to hear this year. The album runs for around 45 minutes and Owlcrusher will punish and torture you for every dark and twisted second the album holds.

The 3 epic tracks held on the album have a drone based sound with the band adding elements of Doom, Sludge and Black Metal that feel influenced by USNEA, Burning Witch, THOU and Wolves In The Throne Room. The vocals are very interesting indeed as they move from pitch black growls to a more nomadic style chant on the opening track Feeble Preacher.

This album is only going to appeal to the more adventurous and serious-minded Extreme Metal fan as Owlcrusher don't offer any moments of hope or sunshine on the record. The music is played at a deliberately slow pace with the album becoming more sinister as time passes by.

The production is very good indeed. The album can be quite RAW sounding in parts but what else do you expect for an album such as this. Owlcrusher's debut S/T album has won it's fair share of plaudits since it's initial release and it's not hard to see why. The final two songs on the album Owlcrusher and Spoiler are both testament to their talent for creating unsettling moments of drone based Sludge/Doom Metal madness.

This album will haunt your nightmares for days......

Words by Steve Howe