Thursday 1 June 2023

REZN and VINNUM SABBATHI to release collaborative album "Silent Future" on August 11th via Blues Funeral Recordings; stream first single!

Blues Funeral Recordings present the next chapter of their acclaimed PostWax series, with a fully collaborative album between Chicago avant-garde doom outfit REZN and Mexico City instrumental cosmic metallers Vinnum Sabbathi. "Silent Future" will be released worldwide on August 11th, with preorders and the first single available right now!

Listen to REZN and Vinnum Sabbathi's new track "Hypersurreal"

On Silent Future, Chicago atmospheric psych-doom outfit REZN teams up with Mexico City cosmic conceptualists Vinnum Sabbathi for a true union of heavy exploration. Allowing themselves a fluid, open canvas to experiment, members of both bands contribute equally to create an album of lush, hypnotic and frequently megalithic ambiance, yielding an utterly cohesive trip into the riff-drenched astral reaches.

About this collaborative album, REZN comments:  "Ever since we played a show in Mexico City with Vinnum Sabbathi, we knew we wanted to find an opportunity to incorporate their cinematic style within the REZN soundscape. The Postwax creative concept helped guide us into making an album that stands out from the rest of our catalog, which was a really refreshing challenge for us. After the songwriting flowed freely, we intentionally left space so we could collaborate together on each song and explore the many shades of psychological cosmic horror.

Vinnum Sabbathi adds: "We feel honored to be part of the Postwax series with this special collaboration with our Friends Rezn, the creation of “Silent Future” gave us the opportunity of experimenting with new ways of composing and recording, but also adding our own touch to the concept with the use of samples and this is very well represented in the first single “Hypersurreal”.
The fluidity with which REZN and Vinnum Sabbathi collaborate is unlikely, yet inarguable. Strong nuclear forces conjoin sections as alternatingly ethereal as celestial light and dense as a black hole collapse.  Ultimately, the endeavor is never limited to being one thing for long, any more than it is limited to being the work of a single band. More than a listening experience, Silent Future’s vitality extends beyond the aural. This is the work of two groups pushing themselves further than they’ve gone before, each answering the other's question of how far they can ultimately go. As heavy as Silent Future gets, as distant as it may range, one cannot regard this righteously thick, molten-tempo journey into the unknown as anything but breathtaking.

"Silent Future" will be released worldwide on August 11th in various vinyl formats, limited digipak CD and digital. The ultra-limited deluxe vinyl edition will be shipped in June to PostWax Vol. II subscribers. Preorders are available now on Blues Funeral Recordings.

REZN & VINNUM SABBATHI "Silent Future" - Out August 11th on Blues Funeral Recordings

Preorder now on BFR website - Bandcamp - EU store


1. Born Into Catatonia
2. Unknown Ancestor
3. The Cultigen
4. Hypersurreal
5. Clusters
7. Morphing
8. Obliterating Mists

Album lineup:

Gerardo Arias: Drums, Percussion, Lead Guitars
Phil Cangelosi: Bass
Patrick Dunn: Drums
Samuel Lopez: Bass
Rob McWilliams: Guitars, Vocals
Spencer Ouellette: Synths, Sax, Flute
Juan Tamayo: Heavy guitars, Synths
Roman Tamayo: Additional FX
Victor “KB” Velazquez: Additional Guitars
Manuel Wohlrab: Spoken Word

The seed for Chicago quartet REZN’s megaton riffs and psychedelic journeys was planted when guitarist Rob McWilliams and bassist Phil Cangelosi began jamming at age twelve in the DC commuter town of Leesburg, Virginia. Relocating to Chicago in 2015, the pair recruited local sound engineer Patrick Dunn to bash on the drums, and, after playing just three shows together, set about recording their molten amp-worshiping debut LP, also inviting their friend Spencer Ouellette to round out the bottom-heavy sound with the hum and squall of modular synth.  Several albums and experimental releases later, REZN has forged a unique style of heavy music by molding disparate textural and musical elements into a shimmering, pummeling cohesion of crushing mass, cosmic weightlessness and lysergic calm.


Formed in 2012 in Mexico City, Vinnum Sabbathi merges loud, slow and distorted riffs with samples from science fiction and science fact, transmitted to listeners through heavy jams and hypnotic transitions. Across two EPs, four split releases, two albums and a live session, this hyperdimensional foursome's singular goal is to create powerful interstellar soundtracks to both earth-originating and space-born cosmic events, via both studio recordings as well as live outings across Mexico and Europe.


About the PostWax series: The PostWax vinyl subscription series presents exclusive limited-edition records from some of the best stoner rock, doom and heavy psych bands on the planet. Benefiting from a spectacular success in 2018, PostWax Year One debuted monster releases to subscribers first — including Elder's "The Gold & Silver Sessions" and Lowrider's seminal comeback album "Refractions" — which were subsequently released in standard retail versions to the public several months later. PostWax II will unfold as a series of 9 deluxe releases on gorgeous vinyl, next-level sleeve design, hand-crafted art and illustrations, and behind-the-scenes liner notes, with releases from Dead Meadow, Acid King, Dozer, Josiah, Dopelord, Mammoth Volume, The Otolith, REZN & Vinnum Sabbathi, Lowrider & Elephant Tree.