Thursday 21 March 2024

Psych Stoner Rockers EARTH DRIVE Release New Song/Video For TRUE PASSAGE INTO THE VOID From Upcoming New Album

The Portuguese band Earth Drive is back with a new album, four years after the release of their acclaimed sophomore record “Helix Nebula” in 2020.

To mark the announcement, the band released a first single on March 20. "True passage into the void" is the chosen song where the band continues to practice a sound that is distinguished by its unique aesthetic.

The song takes us to topics of cosmic transcendence and the evolution of the human being, after a deep journey into the void and his way back to an authentic expression of the self.

We can appreciate this first single through the lyric video edited by Hermano Marques.

This new studio record will be published by the prestigious Portuguese record label Raging Planet in 2024 on a date to be announced. 

“Light Codes” is the album title to succeed “Helix Nebula”, highly applauded by the public and highlighted by the national and international press, deserving excellent reviews at the time. 

The new album was recorded at The Pentagon Audio Manufacturers, ARMA (Audio Recordings Music & Art) and BKK by Fernando Matias, who was also responsible for the mixing and mastering of this work."

You can view the new video below for True Passage Into The Void.


The Alternative Heavy Psych Rock band EARTH DRIVE is characterized by a visceral and cathartic heavy sound.

In addition to its power and volume, the band has a strong atmospheric component with hypnotic and meditative textures adorned by a charismatic, engaging, deep and captivating female voice.

Spatial and ritualistic atmospheres create a unique aesthetic, making Earth Drive a remarkable experience to let us flow and travel within ourselves.

The Portuguese band formed in 2007 and went through several prestigious venues and festivals from the underground scene and shared stages with national and international bands such as Sasquatch, Crippled Black Phoenix, Sisters of Mercy, Steak, Glowsun, Radar Man from the Moon, Spectral Haze, Wet Cactus, Ecstatic Vision, Isaak,UHF, Keep Razors Sharp, My Master the Sun, It Was the Elf, Sinistro, The Black Wizards, Stones of Babylon, Desert Smoke, Son of Cain, Marbles, Moes Implosion, Earth Electric, Wells Valley, Process of Guilt, Vircator, Asimov, Inhuman, among other great bands.

One Ep and two albums were released via Raging Planet: EP “Planet Mantra” in 2015, LP “Stellar Drone” in 2017, LP “Helix Nebula” in 2020, with recognized merits from the national and international underground press and was also worthy of excellent reviews.

Career Highlights

Earth Drive were honored with the 2017 Alternative Metal Album of the Year award for “Stellar Drone” by World of Metal magazine (issue #13 page 174), and again in 2020 “Helix Nebula” was the #1 album in the Experimental category Psych Rock by the same magazine

The band earned a prestigious mention in LOUD! magazine. “One of the most brilliant projects of the current national underground” - José M. Rodrigues | LOUD! nº 202. “Helix Nebula” was also on the best albums lists of several magazines such as Metal Hammer Portugal, Time for Metal and HellHeaven.


Sara Antunes
Sebastião Santos
Fernando Matias
Hermano Marques